Contents

  1. What is a biocide?
  2. What is a pesticide?
  3. As a layperson, which biocides can I use?
  4. Where can I buy biocides?
  5. What are the risks associated with biocides?
  6. Who can I contact if I have questions regarding biocides?
  7. Does a private individual who uses a closed circuit biocide for his or her swimming pool need to register?
  8. Do I need to register if I use a biocide?

Other useful information: plant protection products - see www.fytoweb.be

For professionals: FAQ  professionals

For the closed circuit: see FAQ  professionals or page "Closed circuit"

 1. What is a biocide?

A biocide is a pesticide with the intention of destroying, deterring, rendering harmless, preventing the action of, or otherwise exerting a controlling effect on, any harmful organism by a chemical or biological action using active substances or preparations (containing one or more active substances) and presented in the form in which they are supplied to the user.

Some examples of biocides which can be found in the home: antibacterial soap, disinfectant for the kitchen, an insecticide against ants, flies, anti-rodent pellets, bleach, etc.

Often, reading the label on a product is sufficient to realise that it is a biocide. Indications such as "Destroys bacteria", "Disinfectant", "Destroys germs", "disinfects", etc., imply a biocidal action.

All biocides must be authorised by the Federal Minister for the Environment in order to be placed on the market.

Biocides all present a significant risk to our health to a certain degree - in particular that of pregnant women and children - and for our environment. That is why, if you need to use a biocide, bear in mind that you should use it with extreme caution. Pay special attention to children and other people in the vicinity, and follow the safety precautions meticulously, even before the purchase of the biocide. 

2. What is a pesticide?

A pesticide is a generic term which groups together biocides and plant protection products. All pesticides must have an authorisation granted by the Federal authorities in order to be placed on the Belgian market. For biocides: see list of authorised biocides

PPPs are products used for the protection of plants: se the website "fytoweb".

For more information: see the section "Pesticide"

3. As a layperson, which biocides can I use?

In Belgium, biocides must always have an authorisation from the Federal Minister for the Environment before they can be placed on the Belgian market by a company. An indication of this authorisation must always be visible on the label, in the form of a XXXXB number or BE 20XX-XXXX or XX/IP or NOTIFXXX. A number ending in B or BE or IP indicates that the biocide has been assessed on various important parameters including its efficacy and its toxicity. A NOTIF number means that this is a product with less harmful properties which does not require a detailed scientific assessment.

4. Where can I buy biocides?

It depends on what you need, and whether the targeted problem is mosquitoes, flies, wasps, mites, mice, disinfection of kitchen work surfaces, disinfection of swimming pool water, wood protection varnish, anti-algae products, anti-stain products for boat hulls, etc.

With such variety of targets and biocides, they can be found in all kinds of shops. Anti-stain products for boats are found in more specialised shops whereas insecticides or disinfectants are available in just about every supermarket, DIY stores and even pharmacies.

Furthermore, there are biocides which pose a non-negligible risk to the user (toxic, very toxic, carcinogenic, mutagenic). These biocides are identified as class A biocides and are reserved exclusively for professionals following very strict approval rules for use, and who are registered as sellers. Consequently, class A biocides cannot be freely sold to private individuals. They must also be stored in a special, secured storage room (which is locked and shows a hazard pictogram indicating the risk). Exercise caution when you buy biocides and consult our site before any purchase, in particular the section "precautions for use".

From 2016 onwards, the system of class A biocides will be replaced by a new system: the "closed circuit".

5. What are the risks associated with biocides?

Before using a biocide, you should be fully aware of the risks you may incur, as well as people in your vicinity, especially children. The risks are clearly indicated on the label in the form of pictograms and hazard indications.  You will also find instructions for use which limits the risk, and a note is often attached which contains precise instructions.

If you correctly adhere to all the rules, you can use biocides in complete awareness and control of the risks. For more information concerning the precautions for use, consult the chapter "sustainable use" - "precautions for use".

6. Who can I contact if I have questions regarding biocides?

info.biocides@environnement.belgique.be

 or the Contact Centre 02/524 97 97

7. Does a private individual who uses a closed circuit biocide for his or her swimming pool need to register?

No, the authorisation report for closed circuit biocides for swimming pools will specify this derogation, namely that registration is not obligatory for private individuals who use closed circuit bioces for their private swimming pool. For information: registration on the site is possible on the FPS site since end of 2016, but remains non-obligatory.

8. Do I need to register if I use a biocides?

Registration only concerns biocides which fall under the closed circuit. The closed circuit groups together biocides which pose a significant risk to health. To identify biocides which fall under the closed circuit, consult the interactive list of authorised biocides on our website and select the closed circuit biocides via the filter.

If you need to use closed circuit biocides, consult the "Closed circuit" page on our website.

Table des matières 

 1. Qu'est-ce qu'un produit biocide?

Un biocide est un pesticide, constitué d'une ou plusieurs substances actives, qui est destiné à détruire, repousser ou rendre inoffensifs les organismes nuisibles, à en prévenir l’action ou à les combattre de toute autre manière, par une action chimique ou mécanique.

Quelques exemples de biocides qu’on l’on peut retrouvez chez soi : un savon antibactérien, un désinfectant pour la cuisine, un insecticide contre les fourmis, les mouches, des granulés anti-souris etc.

Souvent, il suffit de lire l'étiquette d'un produit pour en déduire qu'il s'agit d'un biocide. Des mentions telles que “Détruit des bactéries”, “Désinfectant”, “Détruit les germes” « assainit » etc. supposent implicitement une action biocide.

Tout biocide doit être autorisé par le Ministre fédéral de l'environnement pour être mis sur le marché.

Les biocides présentent tous un risqué plus ou moins important pour notre santé - en particulier celle des femmes enceintes et des enfants - et pour notre  environnement. C'est pourquoi, si vous devez utiliser un biocide, gardez à l'esprit qu'il faut l'utiliser avec beaucoup de prudence, portez une attention particulière aux enfants et aux personnes de l'entourage et respectez scrupuleusement les consignes de sécurité, et cela commence déjà avant l'achat d'un biocide. 

2. Qu'est-ce qu'un pesticide ?

Un pesticide est un terme générique qui regroupe à la fois les produits biocides et les produits phytopharmaceutiques. Tout pesticide doit avoir une autorisation délivrée par les autorités fédérales pour pouvoir être mis sur notre marché. Pour les biocides : voir liste des biocides autorisés

Les produits phytopharmaceutiques sont des produits utilisés pour la protection des plantes (produit de protection des plantes - ppp) : voir site « fytoweb ».

Pour d'avantage d'information: voir la rubrique "Pesticide"

3. En tant que citoyen, quels biocides puis-je utiliser?

En Belgique, les biocides doivent toujours disposer d'une autorisation du Ministre fédéral de l’Environnement avant de pouvoir être mis sur le marché belge par une entreprise. La mention de cette autorisation doit toujours figurer sur l'étiquette, et ceci sous la forme d'un numéro XXXXB ou BE 20XX-XXXX ou XX/IP ou NOTIFXXX. Un numéro terminé par B ou BE ou IP indique que le produit biocide a été évalué sur divers paramètres importants tels que son efficacité et sa toxicité. Un numéro NOTIF signifie qu'il s'agit d'un produit dont les propriétés sont moins nocives et qui ne nécessite pas une évaluation scientifique détaillée.

4. Où puis-je acheter des biocides?

Tout dépend de ce que vous avez besoin, de la cible visée tel que moustiques, mouches, guêpes, acariens, souris, désinfection d’un plan de travail en cuisine, désinfection de l’eau d’une piscine, peinture de protection du bois, anti-algues, anti-salissures pour les coques de bateaux….

Les cibles et les biocides étant aussi variés, on les retrouvent dans tous les types de commerces. Les anti-salissures pour bateau se retrouvent dans des magasins plus spécialisés par contre les insecticides ou les désinfectants sont disponibles dans quasiment tous les supermarchés, les magasins de bricolage ou encore les drogueries.

En outre il existe des  biocides présentant un risque non négligeable pour l’utilisateur (toxique, très toxique, cancérigène, mutagène). Ces biocides sont identifiés comme biocides de classe A et sont exclusivement réservés aux professionnels suivant des modalités très strictes d’agréation pour l’utilisation et d’enregistrement pour la vente. En consequence, les biocides de classe A ne peuvent pas être librement mis en vente auprès des particuliers. Ils doivent aussi être entreposés dans un local de stockage spécial et sécurisé (fermé à clé avec un pictogramme de danger indiquant le risque). Soyez vigilant lorsque vous acheter des biocides et consulter notre site avant l’achat, notamment la rubrique « précautions d’usage».

Dès 2016, le système de biocides de classe A sera remplacé par un nouveau système: le "circuit restreint".

5. Les risques lies aux biocides?

Avant d'utiliser un produit biocide, il importe d'être bien conscient des risques que vous pouvez courir ainsi que les personnes de votre entourage, surtout les enfants.  Les risques sont clairement mentionnés sur l'étiquette sous forme de pictogrammes et d'indications de danger.  Vous y trouvez en outre des indications pour un usage limitant le risque et parfois une notice est jointe contenant des instructions précises.

Si vous respectez correctement toutes les règles, vous pourrez utiliser les biocides en toute connaissance de cause et en gérant au mieux le risque. Pour plus d’information sur les précautions d’usage, consulter le chapitre "usage durable" - "précautions d'usage".

6. Qui puis-je contacter pour des questions sur les biocides?

info.biocides@environnement.belgique.be

 ou au contact center 02/524 97 97

7. Un particulier qui utilise un produit biocide du circuit restreint pour sa piscine privée doit-il s'enregistrer?

Non, l’acte d’autorisation des produits biocides du circuit restreint pour les piscines spécifiera cette dérogation à savoir, l’enregistrement n’est pas obligatoire pour les particuliers qui utilisent les produits biocides du circuit restreint pour leur piscine privée. Pour information : l’enregistrement ne sera possible sur le site du SPF que fin 2016, mais restera toujours non obligatoire.

8. Dois-je m'enregistrer si j'utilise un produit biocide?

L'enregistrement ne concerne que les produits biocides classés dans le circuit restreint. Le circuit restreint regroupe les biocide présentant un risque important pour la santé. Pour identifier les produits biocides qui sont classés dans le circuit restreint, il faut aller dans la liste interactive des biocides autorisés sur notre site web et sélectionner, via le filtre, les biocides du circuit restreint.

Si vous devez utiliser des biocides du circuit restreint, consultez la page  "Circuit restreint" de notre site web.